Skip navigation

A new feature on FashionThreads called Questions of the Month. The purpose is to post up & coming designers’ answers to my questions to keep you in the loop of whats happening in the fashion world or to get you to more familiar with Egypt’s Up & Coming designers.  This month we are featuring Amira Safwat behind Bishette Bags, Amina K designer Amina Khalil, and Malak El Ezzawy.

This month’s questions are:

1) What is your favorite spring/summer trend?

Amira Safwat: “My favorite fashion trend for ss09 are flowers! I find them so happy and fresh. You can use the trend in any way to make a basic outfit more appealing. Take a huge flower and stick it on a plain dress or wear a flowered top with a blazer to look super stylish. They also came in all different prints this year so even the least feminine girl can find a way to incorporate them without looking too girly.”

My Sample Pic:

jmendel

lcinfloralwithsuitblazer

Malak El Ezzawy: “My fav spring/summer trend would have to be the one shoulder dress. (not just the simple ones, but the ones with an extra touch to the shoulder) There’s no better way to say “fabulous, glamorous and at the same time powerful and confident” than showing off a one shoulder dress, just like a greek goddess.”

My Sample Pic:

ali_larter

Amina Khalil: “For this summer my favorite trend is mixing and matching a lot of prints and colors.”

2) If you could pick only one clothing item or accessory (dress, tops, bags, shoes…) to design for the rest of your life what would it be and why?

Malak El Ezzawy: “Dresses, dresses, dresses….Haute couture one of a kind dresses.  Haute Couture dresses are very delicate pieces, each of which are unique in their own way.  I like each dress to be different one way or another and i feel like i have endless possibilities when designing dresses.  The thing about dresses is that they say a lot about the character of the woman wearing it and when a woman wants to shine, she wears a dress.  I think its the most essential (glamorous) clothing item in every woman’s closet as they say: ‘A dress is what makes a man ask for your telephone number. But it also is what makes a woman ask for the name of your dressmaker.'”

Amina Khalil: “Dresses. I just love playing around and trying new and different ways to flatter a woman’s body. And with dresses i feel there is a lot of freedom and possibilities of what u can do so i would never get bored.”

Amira Safwat: “If I could pick only one clothing item or accessory to design for the rest of my life it would definitely be BAGS! I made my first bag when i was eight years old and created my first line in 2006 and find that I there are so many more designs I want to create! I never get bored of making them. Handbags are just so appealing and help any outfit look more exciting. A cool clutch can make a tracksuit look fabulous.”

Would love to hear your answers to the above questions! Hope you enjoyed this new feature.

One Comment

  1. You are on the right track gurl!! Keep it up and I have an upcoming designer for you soon isa 🙂


Leave a Reply

